Abbotsford – 2023 Fraser Valley Music Award Winners M.E. Netzke (Experimental, Chilliwack), Ben Cottrill (Roots, Abbotsford) and Hooper Turnt Sanger (BImPOC, Maple Ridge/Chilliwack), performed on stage, along with emerging Mission electro-pop outfit Velavox, who performed an original song produced by Linkin Park’s Mike Shinoda, and veteran Queens, NY hip hop artist, Homeboy Sandman headlined Jam in Jubilee on night three of four while CIVL recognized 25 artists as part of the 8th annual awards show, Thursday night in Abbotsford.

6 of 12 award winners recognized were first time honourees, including Abbotsford locals, Country winner Becca Hess, Adult Alternative winners Summer Eyes and Folk award recipient Semi Athletic, as well as Delta’s Connor Nelson, who was also recognized for the Excellence by a Queer Identifying Artist award, Vancouver’s Jason Lane Band, who produced music in the Valley, and M.E. Netzke (pronounced Emmy, like Emmylou Harris).

Repeat winners include Surrey’s Glisha, who also took home this year’s highest fan vote total, earning nearly 10% of all of the nearly 3,000 votes cast, Cottrill and White Rock’s Lovarra.

Hess was also recognized for Excellence by an Indigenous Identifying Artist, in addition to finishing in the top 5 of Dakota Leslie Fan Vote totals, behind former fan vote and category winner, Coquitlam’s Etienne Siew, and The Sylvia Platters, in addition to Hooper’s uncanny second consecutive second place finish.

Visit the 2023 nominees page on the side tab here to see the full list of winners!

2023 Fraser Valley Music Awards Dakota Leslie Memorial Fan Vote Totals



Percent Vote:


Cash Award:


Hooper Turnt Sanger (Maple Ridge) 7.9% $528.08
The Sylvia Platters (Abby) 6.3% $420.45
Etienne Siew (Coquitlam) 5.75% $383.45
Becca Hess (Abby) 4.9% $329.63
Western Jaguar (Chilliwack) 4.89% $326.27
Summer Eyes (Abb) 4.7% $316.18
Ben Cottrill (Abb) 4.54% $302.72
Stephen Carl O’Shea (New West) 3.9% $262.36
M.E. Netzke (Chwk) 3.73% $248.91
Semi Athletic (Abb) 3.73% $248.91
Lovarra (White Rock) 3.18% $211.91
Jason Lane Band (Van) 3.076% $205.18
Robyn Froese (Van/Langley) 3.03% $201.82
Reevay (Coq) 2.77% $185
Jordan Barr (Mission) 2.77% $185
Jeffrey Wong (Langley) 2.62% $174.91
Annika Catharina (Abby/Deroche) 2.62% $174.91
Velavox (Mission) 2.57% $171.54
Connor Nelson (Delta) 2.42% $161.45
West My Friend (Langley/Vic) 2.3% $154.73
Jacob Brand (White Rock) 2.3% $154.73
Rich Chambers (Langley) 2.16% $144.63
Dale Sawatzky (Langley) 2.07% $137.91
Linda Szentes and Jazzlinks (Surrey) 1.26% $84.09