CIVL Radio         FVMA 2020 Logo

Fraser Valley Music Awards Reveal Fifty 2020 Nominees Eligible for $10,170 in Prizes

Abbotsford – The 50 nominees for 2020’s 5th annual Fraser Valley Music Awards are now available at CIVL-FM’s new platform. Nominees are organized by genre there.

From 71 applicants this year, the most since the inaugural 2016 FVMA’s, 50 artists ultimately received nominations, with 29 of them being first time nominees. Over 175 individual musicians were represented by applications submitted for this years’ awards. 14 of 21 repeat nominees are already previous winners, including only 1 from 2016 (Saint Soldier – Hip Hop), 1 from 2017, (Jada Klein – Youth), 7 from 2018 (Jenny Banai – Folk, elixir – Electronic, Loans – Punk, Alexis Lynn, Indigenous performer, Kellen Saip – Country, The Springmans – For and By Youth, The Kwerks – female performer) and 5 from last year (Hooper Turnt Sanger, James Buddy Rogers, Kristin Witko, Mackenzie Widdows and West My Friend).

2020 FVMA Nominees represent the following geographic areas in and around the FVRD:

2 Abbotsford/Langley (Devours, Jenny Banai)

7 Chilliwack (Aridonis, Mauvey, SURROUNDED BY SPIDERS, Like Bears!, Naxx, Kellen Saip, Boslen)

7 Langley (bathtowel, Mount Mike, Dance Alfred, West My Friend, J.D. Miner, Dale Sawatzky, DerbyTown)

7 Mission (elixir, Mackenzie Widdows, Anna Arrobas, KNOWN., Rebecca Sichon, Evereal, Roads Unknown)

11 Abbotsford (Gob of the sky, Kristin Witko, Chelsea Amber, House of the Future, The Kwerks, Jada Klein, JML, Vince Black, Loans, Natalie Faith, Summer Crush)

7 Surrey (Dianna Wallis, Hooper Turnt Sanger, Kid Fresh, Linda Szentes and Jazzlinks, Alexis Lynn, Glisha, The Sylvia Platters)

2 Aldergrove (The Springmans, Shamir Virgo)

1 Cultus Lake (Saint Soldier)

1 White Rock (Lovarra)

3 Maple Ridge (Ashley Pater, FARA, James Buddy Rogers)

Each nominee’s profile and songs can be found at where you will also be able to stream the November 19th awards show live at 7 pm, featuring performances from nominees and a special keynote speech from a legendary Canadian broadcaster to be announced.